

Европейски парламент Parlamento Europeo Evropský parlament Europa-Parlamentet Europäisches Parlament Europpa Parlament Ευρωπαϊκό Κοινοβούλιο European Parliament Parlement européen Parlaimint na hEorpa Europski parlament Parlamento europeo Eiropas Parlaments Europos Parlamentas Európai Parlament Parlament Ewropew Europees Parlement Parlament Europejski Parlamento Europeu Parlamentul European Európsky parlament Evropski parlament Europan parlamentti Europaparlamentet

> European Parliament Brussels, 18 November 2016

Subject: MEPs welcome this new stage of peace building in Colombia and call for the participation of civil society in it. MEPs also call for the prompt start and advancement of negotiations with the National Liberation Army, ELN

Dear President Juan Manuel Santos,

We, the undersigned Members of the European Parliament, welcome the new peace agreement signed between the Colombian government and the FARC – EP on 12 November 2016. We reiterate our support for the aforementioned agreement and encourage its prompt implementation in order to achieve a lasting and sustainable peace, always maintaining a central focus on the victims of the armed conflict.

On 10 October 2016, the Colombian government and the National Liberation Army (Ejército de Liberación Nacional – ELN) announced the commencement of public conversations, which were due to begin on 27 October 2016 in Quito, Ecuador, but were subsequently suspended. We invite the parties to reach an agreement to advance in this process, which constitutes a fundamental step towards building peace and a country where human rights and social justice are the priority.

Furthermore, we congratulate you on receiving the Nobel Peace Prize and appreciate your declaration to share this award with all the victims of the Colombian armed conflict.

As MEPs we express concern about the security impacts that the current context may have for Colombian civil society, considering the challenges that exist in these first moments of transition towards peace. Particularly, we wish to highlight the situation of risk faced by those rural communities and vulnerable groups who have been most affected by the conflict, including women and children, Afro-Colombian and rural peasant communities and indigenous peoples, and urge that their protection be guaranteed.

We reiterate the particular need to guarantee the physical and psychological integrity of all Human Rights Defenders, including those who are involved in the construction of peace (both with FARC and ELN), whose level of risk and number of aggressions have increased because of their fundamental work in the society. We call for an immediate implementation of the agreed measures concerning the dismantling of paramilitary structures that continue to pose a threat to different sectors of civil society, and especially, to human rights defenders.

Finally, we wish to highlight the essential role played by the United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (UN OHCHR) in monitoring the human rights situation in Colombia, particularly in the implementation of the Peace agreement, and we welcome the renewal of its mandate.

Yours sincerely,

- 1. Martina Anderson Ireland GUE/NGL
- 2. Ulrike Lunacek (Vice-president of the EP, Austria, member of the EP delegation to support the referendum of 2 October, Greens/EFA)
- 3. Jude Kirton Darling United Kingdom S&D

- 4. Javier Nart Spain ALDE
- 5. Javier Couso Spain GUE/NGL
- 6. Josep María Terricabras Spain Greens / EFA
- 7. Karoline Graswander-Hainz Austria S&D
- 8. Ignazio Corrao Italy EFDD
- 9. Matt Carthy Ireland GUE/NGL
- 10. Bodil Valero Sweden Greens / EFA
- 11. Nessa Childers Ireland S&D
- 12. Liadh Ni Riada Ireland GUE/NGL
- 13. Bart Staes Belgium Greens / EFA
- 14. Javi López Spain GUE/NGL
- 15. Lynn Boylan Ireland GUE/NGL
- 16. Ernest Urtásun Spain Greens / EFA
- 17. Josu Juaristi Spain GUE/NGL
- 18. Monika Vana Austria Greens / EFA
- 19. Marina Albiol Spain GUE/NGL
- 20. Molly Scott-Cato United Kingdom Greens / EFA
- 21. Marisa Matias Portugal GUE/NGL
- 22. Martin Haeusling Germany Greens / EFA
- 23. Kostadinka Kuneva Greece GUE/NGL
- 24. Tania González Spain GUE/NGL
- 25. Helmut Scholz Alemania GUE/NGL
- 26. Merja Kyllönen Finland GUE/NGL
- 27. Miguel Viegas Portugal GUE/NGL
- 28. Malin Björk Sweden GUE/NGL
- 29. Eleonora Forenza Italy GUE/NGL
- 30. Lola Sánchez Spain GUE/NGL
- 31. Martina Michels Germany GUE/NGL
- 32. Stelios Kouloglou Greece GUE/NGL

- 33. Xabier Benito Spain GUE/NGL
- 34. Miguel Urbán Spain GUE/NGL
- 35. Dimitrios Papadimoulis Greece GUE/NGL
- 36. João Ferreira Portugal GUE/NGL
- 37. Estefanía Torres Spain GUE/NGL
- 38. João Pimenta Lopes Portugal GUE/NGL
- 39. Jean-Luc Mélenchon France GUE/NGL
- 40. Kostas Chrysogonos Greece GUE/NGL